Did Petr Cech win the Ballon d’Or?

Petr Cech is one of the best goalkeepers of the 21st century, having spent his entire career playing at an incredibly high level. As one of the best goalkeepers in the world, Cech won a lot of different awards, but did he win the Ballon d’Or? 

Did Petr Cech win the Ballon D’or? Petr Cech did not win a Ballon d’Or in his career. He appeared on the shortlist for the Ballon d’Or twice, finishing 14th in 2005 and 19th in 2007, both times with 7 points. That was the closest Cech came to winning the Ballon d’Or. 

Petr Cech had an incredible career where he was part of some very successful teams. Cech was really at his peak in the mid-2000s. This was when Cech got closest to winning the Ballon d’Or. His first appearance on the rankings came in 2005, after winning the Premier League with Chelsea. 

Cech received one third-place vote, one fourth-placed vote and two fifth-placed votes, putting him joint 14th in the Ballon d’Or rankings, the same year that Ronaldinho won the trophy. He finished on the same number of points as Chelsea teammate Didier Drogba and one place below teammate Claude Makelele. 

2007 was another successful year for Cech, having won the FA Cup and the League Cup with Chelsea. He once again featured on the Ballon d’Or shortlist, but was not as successful as in 2005. Cech finished with seven points, ranking joint 19th alongside fellow keeper Gianluigi Buffon as well as Arsenal forward Thierry Henry. 

Despite Cech winning more trophies later in his career he never again featured on the Ballon d’Or list. It is always difficult for a keeper to win the Ballon d’Or. Due to a more limited role in the game, they are often forgotten about. So no Petr Cech did not win the Ballon d’Or. 

Did any goalkeeper won Ballon d’Or? 

Only one goalkeeper has won the Ballon d’Or in the history of the award. That was Lev Yashin in 1963. He won the award having been the world’s best goalkeeper for a few years, helping the Soviet Union win the European Championship in 1960 as well as winning the Soviet Top League five times including in 1963. 

He had come close to winning the Ballon d’Or in the years prior. Yashin finished fifth in Ballon d’Or voting in 1960 and fourth in 1961. He had a brilliant 1963 season where Yashin was by far the best goalkeeper in the world. He won the Ballon d’Or by 18 points over Milan midfielder Gianni Rivera, with Tottenham forward Jimmy Greaves finishing third. 

Since then there has not been a goalkeeper to win the trophy. Gianluigi Buffon is the closest goalkeeper to win the Ballon d’Or. Having been crucial in Italy winning the 2006 World Cup, Buffon finished second in the Ballon d’Or voting, just behind Italy and Juventus teammate Fabio Cannavaro. 

Can a goalkeeper win the Golden Ball? 

The Golden ball is presented to the best player at each World Cup tournament, with a Golden, Silver and Bronze Ball being awarded to the three best players at each World Cup. We have seen one goalkeeper win the Golden Ball in the history of the award. 

Oliver Kahn is the only goalkeeper to win the Golden Ball award. He was phenomenal at the 2002 World Cup in South Korea. Kahn was the main reason why Germany reached the World Cup final, but there was not much he could do about Brazil winning the tournament, despite his best efforts. 

Is Petr Cech retired? 

In terms of football, Petr Cech is retired. He retired from professional football after losing in the 2019 Europa League final to his former club Chelsea. Cech had been winding down his career with Arsenal and in January of the 2018-19 season, he wrote an open letter announcing his retirement at the end of the 2018-19 season. 

Petr Cech is retired from football but he does still play sport. Cech started playing ice hockey after retiring, initially playing for Guildford Phoenix in the National Ice Hockey League Division 2 as a goaltender. He moved to National Ice Hockey League Division 1 side Chelmsford Chieftains in November 2022. 

Who is the No 1 goalkeeper in the world in 2022? 

The best goalkeeper in the world is a difficult award to give and there are many different thoughts. In 2022 keepers like Ederson, Alisson, Oblak and Emiliano Martinez could all be considered the best goalkeeper in the world. But there is only one man to win World Goalkeeper of the Year award. 

Thibaut Courtois was voted the best goalkeeper in the world in 2022, being voted that by the International Federation of Football History & Statistics. They have been giving out this award every year since 1987, with Courtois the recipient of the award for 2022. He finished with 125 points, 15 more than Emiliano Martinez who finished second. 

Courtois did have a brilliant 2022. He was crucial in Real Madrid winning the Champions League and the La Liga title. He returned to near his best form in 2022, with some crucial saves, particularly in Real Madrid’s successful Champions League campaign. 

Has Petr Cech ever scored a goal? 

Petr Cech had a brilliant career and is highly regarded as one of the best goalkeepers in the history of the Premier League. Despite an incredibly long career, spanning over 600 games for club and country, Cech never scored a goal in his career. It is not that surprising as Cech is a goalkeeper, never really getting the chance to score. 

Has Petr Cech ever won the Golden Glove? 

Petr Cech has actually won the Premier League Golden Glove award four times. This means that Cech was the goalkeeper for the Premier League’s defence for four seasons in the League. The first of those came in the 2004-05 season when Cech set the record for the most clean sheets in a season with 24. 

He would win the award again in the 2009-10 season, adding his third in 2013-14. His final Premier League Golden Glove came in the 2015-16 season, his first season with Arsenal. 


Life long Portsmouth Fan and have followed football since 1993. Is there a better sport on earth?

Recent Posts